Arizona Safety Driving Laws
Whether you’re a new driver in Arizona or you’ve been behind the wheel in this state for years, it’s important that you know about and follow all safety rules while driving.
If you are sitting in the front seat of any vehicle built after 1972, you must have your lapbelt properly adjusted and fastened. If there is a shoulder belt available, that must also be properly adjusted and fastened.
You may get a citation if you are the driver and have a passenger under 16 years old in the vehicle that is not wearing a seatbelt.
If you have a medical or physical disability waiver, you are exempt from these laws.
Child Car Seats/Booster Seats
All children under 5 years old riding in a vehicle are legally required to be properly secured in a child restraint device that meets federal standards. If the driver fails to take this action, they may end up getting a penalty for a minimum of $50.
This law, however, does not apply to children riding in a vehicle that was manufactured before 1972, a school bus, public transportation vehicle r recreational vehicle.
Anyone that is operating a motorcycle in Arizona must wear protective glasses, goggles or a transparent windshield. Is the bike already has a protective windshield, the driver is exempt from this law.
Any passengers and drivers that are under the age of 18 years old must wear a helmet.
School bus drivers are not allowed to use a cell phone for phone calls or text messaging when driving a school bus, unless for emergency purposes.
If you intentionally or recklessly leave an animal in a vehicle in a situation where injury or death could occur, such as extremely high outdoor temperatures, you can be cited for a criminal offense. Authorities are permitted to take action to open the vehicle in situations where such action is merited.
For more information on driving and road safety laws, contact a Tucson auto injury attorney at Thrush Law Group. Visit www.azautoinjurylaw.com today for more information.